100 Stories of Hope – I AM ONE

5 Jun

The American Cancer Society is featuring 100 Stories of Hope and they have written a story about me. I am honored beyond belief to be featured in this campaign. I don’t need a silly old title for my volunteer work, or a spot on some board, I just love doing what I do - being a team leader for Making Strides and being the coordinator for the Reach to Recovery program for Presbyterian Hospital(s) in Charlotte, NC.

My main focus is, and always has been, early detection, awareness, helping women who are diagnosed with breast cancer, and shining a light on triple negative breast cancer. I also love to raise money for research and for programs offered by the American Cancer Society. Please read below…and once again, I am honored to be part of  such a great organization that helps so many people. Thank you ACS – for all that you do for all of us!

ACS 100 logo

Finish the Fight – Together We Can End Cancer

100 Stories of Hope

From researchers seeking cures, to volunteers going above and beyond in their
communities – we’re featuring 100 stories from everyday people who are taking
action to help us finish the fight.

Making Strides Against Breast Cancer® Team Captain Continues Helping Others After Diagnosis
 
Laura Renegar, a breast cancer survivor and Making Strides Against Breast Cancer participant.

Laura Renegar started her Making Strides Against Breast Cancer team, the Primax Pink Warriors, in memory of her mother who died of breast cancer.

Two years ago, Renegar was diagnosed with triple negative breast cancer, and the fundraising event suddenly took on new meaning.

“Me? The team captain,” she thought. “I was frightened, shocked, and yet I was thankful,” said Renegar. “The team I had spent years building, the survivors and friends I had met, and the contacts I had at the American Cancer Society were already there.”

Renegar uses her cancer diagnosis to help educate others. She has spoken at Making Strides Against Breast Cancer kick-off events and shared her experiences in television interviews and through her blog.

Last year, the Primax Pink Warriors, boasting more than 100 walkers, raised more than $24,000 for the Society. As an individual fundraiser, Renegar contributed more than $3,500.

Just months after diagnosis, Renegar also became a coordinator for an American Cancer Society Reach To Recovery® program. She helps match newly diagnosed breast cancer patients with survivors. She quickly grew the program from eight volunteers to 36.

“I thank God each day,” said Renegar. “My support system was in place before I was diagnosed and when I look at it that way, I know I am the luckiest girl in the world. I want to raise awareness, promote early detection, and raise more money to help even more breast cancer patients.”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

